The Simple Things

Butternut squash roasting

Maybe it’s an innocent question like the one my 7-year-old asked this morning.

“What was your first word, Mommy?”

“I don’t know, Sweetie.”

And, I probably never will.  When you have a parent with dementia that’s how you roll.  Now, in fairness, she didn’t always remember those little details when she was still herself, so if I start to have too big a pity party nudge me, will ya?!

These little moments are reminders from God to enjoy these times and appreciate the simple things.  Try to get this information while you can and tuck it away.  Appreciate that you’ve had your mother in your life into her 80s and know that there are families out there right now reeling from the loss of a parent or facing some difficult times where they are praying and enjoying their time now.  These people are working to be “present”.

I was standing outside church yesterday talking with another woman and remarked at how busy this month of October is getting.  It seems I’m always focused on the future because each weekend seems packed with activities.  I even heard myself say, “It’s so easy not to be present in the now when always anticipating the next appointment or engagement.”

Wow, thanks for that nudge, Big Guy.

So today, I am working hard at enjoying the now and celebrating the victories of the ones around me (both physically and in my heart).  And I plan to toast them later with a cup of Butternut Squash soup!  Cheers!

One response to “The Simple Things

  1. What a lovely and timely (for me) post. Thank you for sharing your heart and for your reminder:

    “These little moments are reminders from God to enjoy these times and appreciate the simple things.”

    Blessings to you,
    Dani

    P.S. Butternut Squash soup…yes!! 😉

Leave a Reply

