Skewed

A death is sad no matter whose name is on the obituary. It shatters families and even affects people on the periphery of the individual’s life.

That being said, I’m not sure what God’s lesson is in the fact that much of the world is distraught over the death of someone who made bad decision after bad decision. I appreciate the disease aspect of addiction, but the utter heartbreak over this Individual’s passing is leaving me speechless and a bit frustrated and even embarrassed.

The amount of time and sorrow being spent makes me wonder how many folks are aware of the Lance Corporal, Brigadier General and Sergeant First Class who have also died in the month of February.

For those who want to become more aware of the heroes making sacrifices for us I challenge you to view those incredible folks here.

One response to “Skewed

  1. I actually felt bad this morning because when CNN Headline News’ Robin Meade said she was in LA to cover the death, I thought “I hope this is not going to be a news story that inundates the media for too long”. I don’t say it aloud because I realize I may be in the minority with that thought.

    To be fair, my initial reaction was one of shock (not at the level of some, but still “wow”) and my reason is the simple fact that you stated above. She made the decisions that ultimately (speculatively right now), resulted in her early demise. Many of my family members and friends have talent, but not the luck to be “discovered”. Specifically the way she was…signed on the spot by Clive Davis who overheard her singing somewhere. I think “she had it all and threw it away”.

    For her to have such a God given gift (and that it was, as I have had voice lessons and could never aspire to be that awesome..it’s natural for some), and yet still fall prey to the demons of drugs, is sobering. I actually said to someone yesterday that I wonder if any one learns a lesson from it about the reach addiction can have. It doesn’t discriminate and often people forget that it’s not just the poor or disadvantaged who are caught in its downward spiral. What’s interesting is that her former husband also has this problem, but because of his “image” I don’t think anyone would be as shocked, probably expecting it. I think with her, we all thought/hoped she would get “better”, especially since she reported to be “on the mend”. But “once an addict, always an addict” is not just a phrase. So my shock was immediately replaced with “hope she didn’t start using again”.

    Obviously I do know about those servicemembers and as much as it seems as “just another” to some, it is not to me. But I think some of us have a different reality than others. My friends in the entertainment industry see her death differently than those who have seen drug abuse first hand. My personal experience with a relative (who was popular enough for the news to report his death) taught me that there are those who are surprisingly affected and those who say “…and?” or “who?”.

    I hope that even if one person learns of a loss and chooses to make a decision that improves their path, that may be God’s lesson. But again, this is just my thought. 🙂

Leave a Reply

