New Year

I know, I know. I know it’s not even Christmas yet and I’m already talking about the new year. But, I’ve decided that this year I’m going to do a few new changes (I loathe the idea of resolutions just because of their notoriety for failure. I have literally refused to set resolutions in the past because of the pressure and lack of follow thru that they seem to attract). Antidisestablishmentarian of me, I know.

Did you know that those who write their measureable, acheivable goals down (with said plans to accomplish them) are 80% more likely to be successful at them? Seems simple, right?

So, our goals need to be as specific as possible. They have to be measureable. How many units in a ‘happy’? Is that kilos? Ounces?
And there has to be an accompanying plan on how to get from here to there (said in my best Pepperidge “Fahm” accent).

I have in the past taken part in the My One Word movement which has you choose a word that will encompass all that you wish for the coming year (as far as focus and achievement).  That was interesting, but I think I’m going a bit more concrete this year.

The main categories which usually include most all the goals are: Finance, Fitness, Relationships, Faith, Organization and Education.

Care to share any or all of your goals?  Any new categories I haven’t covered?  How do you stay on track?  If you don’t share what they are why not?

Good luck one and all and see you on the other side of 2012!

4 responses to “New Year

  1. My partner and I stumbled over here coming from
    a different website and thought I may as well check things
    out. I like what I see so now i’m following you. Look forward to looking at your web page repeatedly.

  2. Extremely revealing….look onward to visiting again.

  3. Excellent blog you’ve got here.. It’s hard to find excellent writing like yours
    nowadays. I truly appreciate people like you! Take care!
    !

  4. One word? Wow. That’s hard. Maybe for me: happy. Not in the “smile like a lunatic” style but just being at peace with things around me.

    I need to write that down now. 🙂

Leave a Reply

