Numbers…arbitrary?

Sitting in church this morning with our two-year-old, I was looking around at several families with new babies (and/or some on the way).  It appears that many are growing by leaps and bounds.  On any given week, I can name at least 1 and a half hands full of families with in excess of 4 children. Some may say it has to do with being (fill in the blank) religion. It doesn’t matter which one, from my observation, as it seems that many with a close, traditional relationship with God and regular attendance at some form of service choose to have (or allow) many children into their lives.

It struck me as puzzling that God chooses to give the family near the front row eight, that’s right people, eight children when there are other families that are complete with just two adults.  Granted some of those two people families are such by choice, but others aren’t.  I just don’t always get the grand plan, but I guess I’m not on a need-to-know basis with God re: that subject. 

It feels as though I (can’t speak for my other half) am just about content with God’s plan for us, but every once in a while there’s a twinge.  The other day, for example, I was walking through the hospital when the announcement chime went off on the overhead and was then followed by that sweet little lullabye they play when a new baby is born.  I teared up.  Not sure why. Perhaps mourning those who never made it or maybe it was gratitude over the one who did.

4 responses to “Numbers…arbitrary?

  1. What I do know about God’s plan for me is that it is still not fully revealed, that I am called to be surprised every moment a new revelation for me is provided. Although I have a large family, I recognize that it truly was never my plan, but His. They all came when it was His time for them to come, and there were three that were lost as well. I can not answer as to why this is or was, I just know that God gave me what I needed when I needed it. I do not know why despite the absence of forms of birth control I have not been given another little one in almost 9 years, I just haven’t. There is nothing wrong in wondering why, just trust in Him that He always gives you what you need when you need it!

  2. It’s kinda like choosing to be married. Doesnt mean you never fantasize about what could be sometimes. Just as long as you snap back to reality.

  3. Probably a little of both, I think. You never forget the ones that don’t make it, even when you feel certain that you are content with the number you have. At least, that’s my experience.

  4. I agree. I don’t get it.. maybe I don’t want to understand God’s plan. That’s why He says that His thoughts are not my thoughts. Some days though, it would be nice to know why we aren’t one of those families gifted with more children.

    *sigh*

    Thanks for checking in on me. I’m doing ok. Still haven’t started editing my nano novel. Have you??

Leave a Reply

