Absolutes

Every time I tell our nearly 3-year-old something I silently then edit said comment. As an example, ‘boys don’t wear dresses…that’s silly!’

Or, the response to the question, ‘May I please eat cookies for dinner?’ being ‘No, we don’t eat cookies for dinner’ (sometimes cookie dough for me when Daddy’s away, but….I digress).

It’s so funny because I’ll answer with such authority and then challenge myself in my own head. It’s actually rather exhausting. It’s like arguing with myself, but trying to keep it from her! 🙂

Ah, the trials and tribulations are outweighed by the joys, though, aren’t they?!

2 responses to “Absolutes

  1. I’m so glad to hear someone else does this too. I always feel abit of a nutter when I laugh out loud at my own thoughts.

  2. Yea, my kids have come to see that some things are forbidden to them but not to mom and dad. Its now a trial of getting them to understand how grown ups can make good decisions for themselves and they will too… some day. 🙂

Leave a Reply

