What’s your favorite fiction and/or mystery series?

…And why? Tell me what makes the plots interesting to you? What makes the characters likeable? Or not? What has disappointed you about a book? Series? Author?

Have you been reading an author or series and loving it when it gets to the 10th/15th/etc. book and you’ve begun to feel it’s disappointing? Why? Please share!

Looking forward to your wonderfully specific feedback!

2 responses to “What’s your favorite fiction and/or mystery series?

  1. Hi Sarah!
    My current favorite series is the Sookie Stackhouse series by Charlaine Harris. I enjoy the slight mystery to each, without being all about the mystery. Each book builds on the characters and as you read from book to book, you feel like you know these people, they become friends in a sense and you can’t wait to read what happens in their lives next.
    I enjoy the characters because, although some are supernatural, they’re all just humans with flaws and issues, baggage, etc. Sookie grins when she’s nervous. My voice gets high pitched when I’m nervous.
    Though she’s gone from relationship to relationship, I like her current love interest and hope that they find a way to be together. Even if he is a blood sucking vampire. 🙂
    My only disappointment was waiting all these months for the new installment to come out only to find that it was a collection of short stories that “added” to the series as a whole. Some of the stories fit in between some of the books. I don’t agree that they were all beneficial, but it was slightly enjoyable. I would have preferred reading the next installment over the short stories.

    (As a side note, I just have to say I do NOT like the TV show as much as the books. They are so completely different from each other that I have to watch and read them as separate entities, otherwise I get too peeved about the differences.)

    • Kelly:

      Thanks for stopping by. I will have to check that series out although I don’t tend toward the vampire genre much. But, you never know what you’re missing unless you try something new, right?!

      Sarah

Leave a Reply

