When do two-year-olds understand “why”?

Our little one is very funny (not that I’m biased, mind you). So, when I ask her “Why” she doesn’t want to go back to bed her answer invariably is “Gooood”.

She doesn’t mean to be funny here, however. She thinks that makes perfect sense. If I ask “How” she is doing the correct response is “Gooood”. So, logically, it should also hold true for “why” questions.

Can anyone shed light on when they start to understand the “why”s?

True confessions: I’ve even resorted to poor grammar and asked her “How come” you’re crying…oooh, my ears! 🙂

2 responses to “When do two-year-olds understand “why”?

  1. Oh, you’ll know…and then you’ll wish she never learned it. I believe from about three..”But, WHY, mama? Why do I have to go to bed? Why did God make mosquitoes? What do you mean you don’t know? Why, why, why?”

    Answering you when you ask why? yeah, still waiting for an answer other than “I don’t know!” or “because!” I think that one depends on how verbal they are, and how able they are to name their emotions.

Leave a Reply

